One thing I loved from my childhood, was baking with my mom and siblings in the kitchen. Actually, I still love to do that! Now that I’m a mom, I love baking with my son. We use every holiday as our inspiration to get in the kitchen and get messy. Traditions can be anything from new, old, food, games…but the focus should always be around quality time with the people you love the most, family. Take this opportunity and create a new tradition for St. Patty’s Day! My son and I love to make Irish Potatoes! We used this recipe below but you can also leave out the coconut for a non-coconut lovers out there.

Irish Potatoes

Makes 40-60 Treats
Recipe Adapted from AllRecipes
Ingredients:
  • 1/4 cup Butter (softened)

  • 4 oz. Cream Cheese (softened)

  • 4 cups Confectioners’ Sugar

  • 2 1/2 cups Shredded Coconut

  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract

  •  3 tbsp Cinnamon

Directions:
  • Cream butter and cream cheese together until smooth. 
  • Add vanilla extract and beat until combined.
  • Add confectioner’s sugar one cup at a time until combined and smooth. You may need to scrape down the sides of the bowl in between additions.
  • Add coconut and mix until combined.
  • Chill dough for 20-30 minutes. 
  • Roll dough into balls “potatoes” about the size of a large marble and finish them off by rolling in cinnamon.
