First off, let’s get something straight, I promise to never steer you into a recipe I wouldn’t make again. I get a lot of inspiration for my meals and desserts through Pinterest and have experienced devastating pinterest fails. Devastating to my ego, that is. I won’t go into detail but some pinterest fails still hurt my heart. ::sigh:: With that said, THIS recipe is a keeper!

This Slow Cooker Chicken Tortellini Soup is super easy to make. Simply add all of the ingredients to the slow cooker except for the tortellini. I like to add them in about 15 minutes before serving so they don’t get mushy. Serve this soup with some parmesan cheese, crusty bread or a nice salad and enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 1½ pounds boneless chicken breast
  • 3 medium carrots, peeled and diced
  • 3 stalks celery, diced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 cups chicken broth (I always make my broth with chicken bouillon, seems more flavorful in my opinion)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 2 cups cheese tortellini
  • chopped fresh parsley for serving, if desired
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. Add all of the ingredients to a slow cooker except for the tortellini.
  2. Cook on low for 6 hours.
  3. Remove the cooked chicken from the slow cooker and shred or cube and add back to the slow cooker.
  4. Add in the tortellini and cook for 15 minutes or until they are cooked all the way through.
  5. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately with chopped parsley, if desired.
img_3117img_3120_1img_3122_114666144_10211033076606071_4659594104574028354_n
