Fall is by far my MOST favorite time of the year! The cooler weather, fresh breeze coming through the open windows, hoodies, the smell of campfires, the colorful landscape and all the family fun activities. Oh, I just love it! Not only can you enjoy every type of fall festival every weekend but there are other fun traditions you can create as a family too. I wanted to share some of my favorite fall family fun we do every year to spark ideas for you and your family to do as well. I grew up doing some of these and some of them I have started on my own with my son. It’s never too late to start making memorable memories!

1. Pumpkin Picking and Carving

We make a whole day out of it! Since we live in South Jersey, we are surrounded by local farms who offer pumpkin picking and more! This usually includes a hayride to the pumpkin field, which the kids always love in itself, and then you are free to search as long as you want for the perfect pumpkins to take home. Last year we tried a new spot that also had a corn maze, tractor ride, play ground, pumpkin painting and more! After a day in the fresh air, we come home to carve or paint our pumpkins.

281406_4875122559141_2057911195_n

2. Apple Picking

My favorite new tradition we started a few years back is apple picking! We love to go to Hill Creek Farm in Mullica Hill. We usually try to go on their fall fun day but no matter what day you go there will be tons of things for the kids to do besides apple picking. Of course we do the tractor ride and my son loves the rubber ducky racing (beware the kids may get wet). We search the rows of apple trees to find the perfect apples to fill our basket to make homemade applesauce and pies. They also sell delicious apple cider and fresh apple cider donuts, OMG they are so good!

1391614_10202347228945308_88403440_n

3. Fall Festivals

I’m pretty sure that just about every town holds their own fall festival and I try to attend ALL of them…ok maybe not ALL of them but a good chunk of them. I’m a sucker for crafts, good food and music. My favorite fall festival in SJ (because it reminds me of my childhood) is the Greenwich Fair, which is usually held early on in the fall season. As a child, we always bought our first pumpkin of the season there and I continue to do that tradition with my son.

10501820_10205075501230410_9202730633286829678_n

4. Leaf Piles

Have ever seen and heard the look of sheer joy and laughter? Rake up a pile of leaves and let your kids destroy it! It is the funnest! The bigger the better.

img_7173

5. Boo at the Zoo

Do you have a local zoo? They probably do a boo at the zoo and it’s always fun for the kids. Dress the kids up in their costumes and enjoy trick or treating, all while checking out the animals. So many cute photo ops!

10701961_10205267112100562_349189011263987937_n

 

